Congratulations St Macartan’s Primary School – finalist in the Premier’s Sustainability Awards 2014

St. Macartan's PSSt Macartan’s Primary School in Mornington has been announced as a finalist in the 2014 Premier’s Sustainability Awards for their project Education for Sustainability.

Sustainability Victoria CEO, Stan Krpan, congratulates the St Macartan’s team for their innovative work and said they are an excellent example of leadership in sustainability.

“St Macartan’s has been recognised by judges in the Education category for their outstanding contribution to sustainability,” he said.

“This year, the Premier’s Sustainability Awards has announced 27 finalists – the highest number in the Awards’ history. We are delighted to celebrate and share their remarkable stories of sustainability,” he said.

St Macartan’s Primary School is home to 550 students from Prep to Year 6.

The key objectives in the school development is utilising the schools built and natural environments as rich learning opportunities for the students. The schools environment is to invite inquiry, stimulate the senses, engage the mind and allow for a high level of connection and interaction.

School spaces are rich in texture, are flexible and transformable over time and reveal nature, processes and systems in a transparent manner. The sustainable design systems are highly visible to students, to encourage user participation and encourage children to take the learnings home.

Now in their 12th year, the Premier’s Sustainability Awards celebrate efficient use of water, resources and energy, better waste management and recycling practices, the enhancement of the environment and effective, practical community action.

Finalists have been selected in nine categories: Cleaner Yarra and Bay (a new category), Community, Education, Environmental Protection, Infrastructure and Buildings, Innovative Products or Services, Large Business, Small and Medium Enterprises (SME) and Tourism.

A winner will be selected from each category finalist group.

In addition to the nine category awards, the Hon Denis Napthine MP, Premier of Victoria will personally select two overall winners: the Premier’s Regional Recognition Award and the Premier’s Recognition Award.

Winners will be announced at the gala awards night on Thursday 2 October, at Peninsula, Docklands. Tickets are now available for purchase at until Wednesday 24 September.

For a list of the finalists in all categories, visit

Media release: Cath Newell

By CERES Education – Outreach Team|2017-11-06T18:17:41+10:00September 9th, 2014|0 Comments